Racheal Mutgaa is the 2017 Nagano Marathon winner. In a race she dominated from start to finish, Mutgaa crossed the line in 2:33:00 ahead of Ethiopia’s Famtu Eticha and compatriot Miriam Wangari.

Soon after the start, Rachel Jemutai Mutgaa broke away from the chase pack with Miriam Wangari and Famtu Eticha in tow. By five kilometres the trio was more than 50 seconds ahead of Mayumi Uchiyama who in turn was 26 seconds ahead of Aki Otagiri.

Mutgaa then broke away from both Eticha and Wangari, and by 10km Mutgaa was nearly 20 seconds ahead of her two African rivals. Mutgaa then continued to extend her lead all the way to the finish line, winning in 2:33:00.

Famtu Eticha finished second but she was more than four minutes behind the winner Mutgaa. Wangari finished third, more than a minute behind Eticha, while the first Japanese was Aki Otagiri in fourth, ahead of Japanese compatriot Mayumi Uchiyama in fifth.

The men’s race was won by Japanese Taiga Ito in 2:14:39, ahead of Ser-od Bat-Ochir of Mongolia. Yuri Okishawa, Kazuki Onishi and Tatsunori Hamasaki, all of Japan, finished third, fourth and fifth respectively.