As much as the Rio Olympics 2016 will officially be opened on Friday 5th August, there will be Olympic football already underway by then. 

Rio Olympics logo

Just like at the London Olympics four years ago, the Rio Olympics scheduling means teams get to kick off their summer games two days early. There will be 16 men’s teams and 12 women’s teams competing at the games for Olympic gold. 

Notable players at the games include Brazilians Marquinos, Felipe Anderson, Rafinha and Captain Neimar. Nigeria will rely on the experience of Chelsea’s John Obi Mikel, while South Korea have Tottenham Hotspurs’ Son Heung-min

Brazilian female superstar Marta will be joined by her 38 year old compatriot Formiga, while defending Olympic and world  champions USA will have goalkeeper Hope Solo and current world player of the year  Carli Lloyd

The women will start their tournament on Wednesday 3rd as South Africa take on Sweden, and the men’s games begin the next day with Denmark facing Iran. 

Men’s groups

  • Group A: Brazil, South Africa, Iraq, Denmark
  • Group B: Sweden, Colombia, Nigeria, Japan
  • Group C: Fiji, South Korea, Mexico, Germany
  • Group D: Honduras, Algeria, Portugal, Argentina

Women’s groups

  • Group E: Brazil, China, Sweden, South Africa
  • Group F: Canada, Australia, Zimbabwe, Germany
  • Group G: USA, New Zealand, France, Columbia